The University of Texas at Austin - What Starts Here Changes the World
Nano Banner


Faculty News

Rod Ruoff

Faster computers, electronic devices possible after scientists create large-area graphene on copper

The creation of large-area graphene using copper may enable the manufacture of new graphene-based devices that meet the scaling requirements of the semiconductor industry, leading to faster computers and electronics, according to a team of scientists and engineers at The University of Texas at Austin.

Don Paul
Chemical engineering professor Don Paul recognized as "Most Cited Author" and "Most Prolific Author"
Al Bard

Bard Named Distinguished Scientist by Southeastern Research Association

AUSTIN, Texas—The Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) today announced that Allen Bard, the Hackerman-Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin, will receive its 2009 Distinguished Scientist Award.

Engineers receive $3.2 million in National Science Foundation CAREER awards

Eight engineering assistant professors at The University of Texas at Austin have been awarded Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards from the National Science Foundation, an honor which recognizes promising young faculty and supports their research with five years of funding. The Cockrell School of Engineering’s winners include: Adela Ben-Yakar of Mechanical Engineering; Christine Julien of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mary Jo Kirisits of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering; Alexis Kwasinski of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Laura J. Suggs of Biomedical Engineering; Emanuel Tutuc of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Haris Vikalo of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Xiaojing (John) Zhang of Biomedical Engineering.


Professor Bradley Holliday awarded 2009 National Science Foundation CAREER Award

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

Rod Ruoff

Rod Ruoff chosen as recipient of Lee Hsun Lecture Award

Rod Ruoff has been chosen as a recipient of the "Lee Hsun Lecture Award" by the Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences located in Shenyang,China. Ruoff was given this award "in recognition of past accomplishments in the research field of materials science and technology." He will give a lecture sometime in 2009 or 2010 at the IMR in Shenyang.

Peter Rossky

Chemist Honored by ACS

Peter Rossky, professor of chemistry, is the first recipient of the American Chemical Society Physical Division Award in Theoretical Chemistry for his outstanding contributions to physical chemistry.

Kallie Willets

Dr. Katherine Willets receives Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award

The Air Force Office of Scientific Research announced Oct. 17 it will award approximately $12.1 million in grants to 39 scientists and engineers who submitted winning research proposals through the Air Force's Young Investigator Research Program.

Paul Barbara

The American Chemical Society just announced that Paul Barbara has received its 2009 E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy

The award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in fundamental or applied spectroscopy in chemistry. Barbara received this award for his many seminal contributions to the chemical application of many of the most important techniques in modern spectroscopy, including ultrafast spectroscopy, single molecule spectroscopy, and near field scanning optical microscopy/spectroscopy.

Lauren Webb

New CNM Fellow - Dr. Lauren Webb from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Lauren Webb will join the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at The University of Texas at Austin in the fall of 2008. Her research interests are centered around understanding and manipulating the mechanisms of interaction, organization, and self-assembly of biological macromolecules that lead to the complex and emergent properties of living systems.


Dr. Muhammad Zaman receives the 2008 Cockrell School of Engineering Award for Outstanding Engineering Teaching by an Assistant Professor

This award recognizes outstanding classroom teaching by an assistant professor to promote and encourage exceptional teaching in a faculty member's early career. More...

Elaine Li

Five Scientists Win Sloan Fellowships At The University of Texas at Austin

Five faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin were awarded Sloan Research Fellowships for 2008 including CNM fellows Xiaoqin Li and Christopher Bielawski.


Allen Bard

For Creating New Field Of Science, Bard Wins International Prize

Chemist Allen Bard was awarded the 2008 Wolf Prize in Chemistry for pioneering the development of the scanning electrochemical microscope.


UT Physicist and Colleagues Lead Five-Member Nanoscience Consortium

Researchers from the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and The University of Texas at Austin will explore ways to control optical energy for applications in nanoscience and nanotechnology as leaders of a five-university consortium awarded $1.4 million by the National Science Foundation (NSF).


CNM Fellow Sanjay Banerjee elected as 2007 Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Four professors at The University of Texas at Austin have been elected as 2007 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

AAAS fellows are chosen annually by their peers to recognize their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications


Dr. Shaochen Chen elected Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME)

Fellow Grade is the highest elected grade of membership within ASME, the attainment of which recognizes exceptional engineering achievements and contributions to the engineering profession.

Kallie Willets

Dr. Katherine "Kallie" Willets is joining us as an Assistant Professor this fall. She received her doctoral degree in physical chemistry at Stanford University, and has been doing postdoctoral research at Northwestern University since 2005.

Dr. Willets' research focuses on using ultra sensitive spectroscopic techniques—including single molecule fluorescence, surface-enhanced Raman scattering (SERS), and single nanoparticle localized surface Plasmon resonance (LSPR) spectroscopy—to study molecular photophysics and environmental interactions at the nanoscale level.

Willets will be teaching Analytical Chemistry in the fall and we are delighted to have her here with us.

Rod Ruoff
Photo by Akiko Ruoff

New CNM faculty member publishes paper in Nature on graphene-based thin film material with novel properties.

Rod Ruoff, Cockrell Family Endowed Chair in Mechanical Engineering, will join UT Austin in September, 2007 where he and his research group will invent and study new materials, methods, and devices.  Ruoff, a physical chemist, has research interests in nanotechnology, materials science, and energy and the environment.

Brian Korgel

CNM Faculty Member Named Fulbright Scholar in Spain Next Year

Brian Korgel, associate professor in chemical engineering, has been named a Fulbright Scholar in Spain for the 2007-2008 school year. He will conduct research on nanorods in the Departments of Applied Physics and Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Alicante. Korgel will collaborate with Professors Joaquin Fernandez Rossier and Juan Jose Palaciosth, both in applied physics. Their research seeks to develop a variety of new technologies that will test fundamental understanding of materials chemistry and properties.






Contact Home