The University of Texas at Austin - What Starts Here Changes the World
Nano Banner

The University of Texas at Austin has one of the largest and most influential nanoscience and nanotechnology faculty world-wide. Some of the main research areas incude nanoelectronics, nano biology and medicine, nano structured polymers, nanoparticle synthesis, nanotechnology for energy needs (e.g. for photovoltaics, fuel cells and catalysis), nano applications to spintronics and plasmonics, nano imprint lithography, nano tube research, and nanomechanics.

Click here to see our full faculty listing

Rod Ruoff

Faster computers, electronic devices possible after scientists create large-area graphene on copper

The creation of large-area graphene using copper may enable the manufacture of new graphene-based devices that meet the scaling requirements of the semiconductor industry, leading to faster computers and electronics, according to a team of scientists and engineers at The University of Texas at Austin.

Don Paul Chemical engineering professor Don Paul recognized as "Most Cited Author" and "Most Prolific Author"
Al Bard

Bard Named Distinguished Scientist by Southeastern Research Association

AUSTIN, Texas—The Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) today announced that Allen Bard, the Hackerman-Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin, will receive its 2009 Distinguished Scientist Award.

Engineers receive $3.2 million in National Science Foundation CAREER awards

Eight engineering assistant professors at The University of Texas at Austin have been awarded Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards from the National Science Foundation, an honor which recognizes promising young faculty and supports their research with five years of funding. The Cockrell School of Engineering’s winners include: Adela Ben-Yakar of Mechanical Engineering; Christine Julien of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mary Jo Kirisits of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering; Alexis Kwasinski of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Laura J. Suggs of Biomedical Engineering; Emanuel Tutuc of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Haris Vikalo of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Xiaojing (John) Zhang of Biomedical Engineering.


Professor Bradley Holliday awarded 2009 National Science Foundation CAREER Award

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

Rod Ruoff

Rod Ruoff chosen as recipient of Lee Hsun Lecture Award

Rod Ruoff has been chosen as a recipient of the "Lee Hsun Lecture Award" by the Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences located in Shenyang,China. Ruoff was given this award "in recognition of past accomplishments in the research field of materials science and technology." He will give a lecture sometime in 2009 or 2010 at the IMR in Shenyang.

Peter Rossky

Chemist Honored by ACS

Peter Rossky, professor of chemistry, is the first recipient of the American Chemical Society Physical Division Award in Theoretical Chemistry for his outstanding contributions to physical chemistry.


More faculty news here
Nano Views
Major Research Centers with
Emphasis in Nanotechnology
Nano Science and Technology Building
Pickle Research Center
Texas Materials Institute


Billing Equipment Reservation Room Reservation NST Tours Training Coffee at 3 in the NST Suggestions Pickle Research Center - Microelectronics Research Center Nano Science and Technology Building